My Minimalism Perspective as a Marketer

Daniel Silva
2 min readJan 30, 2022

--

Image from Canva

Marketing only cares about one thing (and whoever says otherwise is lying): profit.

It serves the purpose to sell a product or a service. Given that modern-day society is so focused on consumption, I dare to say it is one of the most valuable jobs, currently.

I, as a minimalist, don’t share the habit of obsessive consumption. I only buy what I deem necessary. Everything else is just left on the supermarket shelves.

The hypocritical thing about me is that I’m also a freelance marketer and I often help my clients improve their sales through blogs or social media management.

Well, it could be hypocritical of me if I would work with clients who only sell what I consider junk — cof cof fast fashion.

The thing is I prefer to work with clients who provide recurring services to their clients, like dental clinics, opticians, restaurants, etc.

This way I know I’m not betraying half of me while the other half is working.

I know I won’t sell my beliefs for a better percentage. I much rather prefer to maintain my morals than to have a fatter wallet.

Inspired by a fellow creator, I decided to challenge myself to publish 100 short-form articles within January. This is article number 71.

--

--